farmerswife

Welcome
Login  Sign up

Force hide Projects from Users

How to “Force Hide” Projects from Users

Setting “Show Display Settings In Toolbox > Projects and Project Search”

With the Toolbox setting “Show Display Settings In Toolbox > Project and Project Search” it ispossible to “force hide” Projects for which Users do not have Project Permission. This feature is available since farmerswife version 6.0 SP4. It is used in combination with “Project Permissions” and the Display setting “Show Only Projects Where I Have Write Permission”.

The Projects will be hidden in the:

  • Toolbox Projects Tab
  • Top Navigation Projects Tab
  • Long Form Project Tree

Note: It will not prevent Users from accessing Project Bookings in the scheduling view.

The setting “Show Display Settings in Toolbox > Projects and Project Search” is found inToolbox > Settings > Miscellaneous.

The Display options that are affected by this setting are found in the Toolbox > Projects Tab and under Projects in the top navigation bar. If the setting is ticked all options are shown, If the setting is un-ticked the options will not show.
Toolbox > Projects

The Display settings that will be affected in the Toolbox are:

  • Display (refers to the columns displayed in the window)

  • Show Only Projects Where I Have Write Permission (Only shows Projects for which

    the user has Project Permissions)

  • Show Only My Projects (Only shows Projects for which the User is the Project Owner)

Top Navigation Bar > Projects

The Display settings that will be affected in the Top Navigation Bar > Projects are:

  • Edit View

  • Save View As

  • Load View

  • Remove View

  • Show Only Projects Where I Have Write Permission

  • Show Only My Projects

How to set it up

An “Administrator User” will need to create all the settings that should apply for other Users (e.g. project/ production managers). It will be possible to copy the setting from the first User to other Users that should have the same settings.

Step 1: Enable Project Permissions on the Server Setup
On the Server select the Projects tab > select “Yes” for “Use Project Permissions”.

If there are Users who should always be allowed to have full access to all Projects add them to “Always Allow”, click on the green + and find the User in the dropdown list.

Step 2: Start the farmerswife client and login as the User for whom the setting should be applied.

Step 3: Make sure the User has all the correct settings according to the company workflow.

The Toolbox Tab “Settings” is later going to be removed to prevent the User from being able to change the setting “Show Display Settings in Toolbox > Projects and Project Search” (see step 8). This implies that the User will not have access to any of the Settings. Therefore it is important to ensure that the correct settings that apply to the company workflow are set up.

This can be done either manually or by copying the settings from another User that has all settings preconfigured. In either case first go to Toolbox > Settings Tab.

  • Manually: Once you are in the Toolbox Settings start from the top and make the selections (find the settings tab in the blue top area, it is marked with a pink square in the image below)
  • Copy from another User: Select Miscellaneous > Copy Settings From Another User > select a User to copy from...

Step 4: Selections in the Toolbox > Project Tab
Since the three options 1) “Display”, 2) “Show Only Projects Where I Have Write Permission” and 3) “Show Only My Projects “ will be hidden from the User these need to be set correctly.

Go to Toolbox > select Projects Tab > click on the Dropdown menu icon in the top left corner (see image below)

  1. Display: Select the columns that the Toolbox > Projects tab window should show

  2. Show Only Projects Where I Have Write Permission: this should be selected

  3. Show Only My Projects: In case the User should only see Projects for which she/ he is the project owner this line should be selected. (Normally this would not be selected, as it would also prevent the User from seeing Projects that another User has created but for which she/ he has been granted project permission).

Step 5: Selections in the Top Navigation Bar Projects.
The same procedure as for the Toolbox projects needs to be done for the Projects Tab in theTop Navigation Bar. Click on the dropdown menu icon to make the selection

  1. Edit View: Select the columns that should be displayed

  2. Show Only Projects Where I Have Write Permission: this should be selected

  3. Show Only My Projects: In case the User should only see Projects that she/he has created then this line should be selected. (Normally this would not be selected, as itwould also prevent the User from seeing Projects that another User has created butfor which s/he has been granted project permission)

Step 6: Un-tick the setting “Show Display Settings in Toolbox > Projects"
In Toolbox > Settings > Miscellaneous.

Step 7: Log out and Login as yourself.
Step 8: Change the User Permission Profile to not Access Toolbox Settings.

The User should not be able to change the Settings created in the previous steps, therefore it is needed to change the permission profile. Go to Object Manager. Find the User; doubleclick to open the “Modify User” window. On the right hand lower section, to the very right of the selected Permission Profile, click on the dropdown menu and select Edit.

In the Permissions window scroll to the Advanced section and un-tick the option “AccessToolbox Settings”

When the Permission Profile has been changed there will be a pop up asking whether to modify the profile or not. If you say No, you can create a new Profile that you can reuse later for the other Users that should have the same profile.

If you would select “Yes” there will be a second question if you would like to “Modify OtherUsers Using This Profile?” Here you need to select “No”, otherwise it will not be possible tofollow the above steps for other Users since the Toolbox settings tab won’t be available.

Step 10Setting up other Users

Follow the above steps. If the following Users will be having the same settings as the previous Users then it is possible to Copy the Settings from another User (Toolbox settings > Miscellaneous).

When the settings have been copied you will need to repeat from step 7, ie log out and in as yourself and modify the User’s Permission Profile. You can now apply the Permission Profile that was created/ updated for the Previous User.

For more on Permission Profiles please see the User Permissions manual.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No