farmerswife

Welcome
Login  Sign up

Creating a Personnel Booking over a Confirmed Booking

If a User is not available due to personal matters (sick, family emergency, etc.), but is booked on a confirmed multiple day Booking, there are two ways to create a Personnel Booking on a specific day(s) without deleting the User from the whole Booking. Use either the Long Form or the Hourline to perform the necessary actions. 

LONG FORM

  • Delete a User from a Booking for the day(s) to create a Personnel Booking 

Add the Project to the Projects Tree and highlight the day(s) when the User is unavailable. Click on the User’s icon and in the drop down menu select “Days” then “Remove From Time Range” and Confirm Re-Timing.
The User’s Booking* on that day is deleted and the User can then be booked as unavailable. With the day still highlighted in the Long Form, go to the Personnel Tree and click on the User’s icon and select the appropriate option from the drop down menu. If the User’s line is selected, you can also right-click on the User, select “Personnel,” then choose an option.
* Changes made to this Booking for later reference can be found in the Booking History. 

If a User is booked on more than one Project on that day, the User can be dragged into the Objects Tree and each Booking can be deleted by dragging it to the left into the appearing trash bin. Next, in the pop up dialog, select “Remove Only On Day: [date]” then “Editor/ [name]” (User to remove). After all Bookings are deleted for that day, right-click on the User and select “Personnel,” then choose an option. 

  • Change the Status of the Booking temporarily to create a Personnel Booking for a User without removing the User from the Booking 

If for tracking reasons, the User shouldn’t be removed from the Booking on any day, then use the following method.

Temporarily set the Booking to Preliminary or a planning status. To do this, add the Project to the Projects Tree and click on the Booking menu icon. From the drop down list select “Global Status,” then“ Preliminary.” The Booking will be set to Preliminary Status (only if your custom Global Statuses include an option like Preliminary**).

Next, click the day when the User is unavailable, highlighting it in the Long Form. In the Personnel Tree, select the User and create a Personnel Booking either by clicking on the User’s icon and selecting the appropriate option or by right-clicking on the User, selecting “Personnel,” and choosing an option.

After the Personnel Booking for the User has been created, change the Global Status of the Booking back to “Confirmed” (or the original status). 

HOURLINE

  • Delete a User from a Booking for the day(s) to create a Personnel Booking

Click on the Timeline of the User and select the day that he/she is unavailable. Click and drag the Booking into the appearing trash bin. In the pop up dialog, select “Remove Only On Day: [date]” then “Editor/ [name]” (selected User) to remove this User from the Booking just on that day and click “Confirm.” 

Create the Personnel Booking by clicking and dragging from the start to end time of the Booking in the User’s timeline. In the resulting pop up menu, select “Personnel Management,” then choose an option.

  • Change the Status of the Booking temporarily to create a Personnel Booking for a User without removing the User from the Booking 

Temporarily set the Booking to Preliminary or a planning status. To do this, click on the menu icon of the Booking and select “Global Status”, then “Preliminary.” The Booking will be set to Preliminary Status (only if your custom Global Statuses include an option like Preliminary**). Select the day that the User is unavailable and create a Personnel Booking for the User either by clicking and dragging along the User’s timeline or dragging the User to the highlighted date, then selecting “Personnel Management” and choosing an option. After the Personnel Booking for the User has been created, change the Global Status of the Booking back to “Confirmed” (or the original status).

Note: Attempting to create a Personnel Booking for a User that is already booked on a Confirmed Booking will prompt this dialog: 

** To check, create or change Global Status options, go to the Settings tab in the Toolbox, use filter “Booking Defaults” > Global Status> Server Setup.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No