Only Users with the "Can Lock / Unlock Budgets" permission, will see an "unlocked" icon in front of the Budget name, and will be able to click on it to lock the budget and prevent it to be modified.
Mousing over the lock icon reveals a tooltip with info of who locked it and when: "Locked by [user name] On [date / time]".
Locked Budgets cannot be renamed or deleted. But options "Duplicate" and "Copy To Global Template" are available.
Users cannot add new Budget Details to a locked Budget, and cannot edited or removed existing Budget Details.
Actuals can still be attached to or detached from the Budget Details of a locked Budget.
You can still use the following options on Budget Details:
- "Copy Budget Line", so a User can copy from a locked budget and paste into a new unlocked budget on the same project.
- "Forward Budget Line To Actuals"
Anyone with "Can Lock / Unlock Budgets" permissions can unlock the Budget for further editing.
Users with no permission to lock / unlock will only see the lock icon next those Budgets that are locked.